Ilorin Branch, Kwara State.
  Check the NBA Ilorin Picture Gallery for the lastest Album from the June Conference  

NBA Download
Bar Center




The NBA Ilorin is a foremost branch of the Nigeria Bar Association. Amongst other local Bar Associations, it is a primus inter pares. The Ilorin Bar is an acknowledged veritable branch of the NBA, committed towards the enthronement of best practices and ethics of the legal profession in Nigeria. The Branch is also usually to be found at the forefront of the fight for the promotion and observance of the rule of law in Nigeria.


The branch which was founded shortly after Nigeria’s independence has continued to grow in strength and membership ever since. Among the pioneer practitioners are the late Chief D. Akin Akintoye, Prince J.O. Ijaodola, late Alhaji Akanbi Oniyangi, Alhaji Aliyu Salman SAN, Chief Tunji Arosanyin, Chief Niyi Oshe SAN, Chief P.A.O. Olorunnishola SAN, Late Alhaji Ayinla Laaro among others.

Within a decade, the Ilorin Bar successfully hosted two Annual General Conferences of the NBA (1999 and 2007). The branch has also produced two eminent Presidents of the NBA in quick successions, in the persons of Chief Wole Olanipekun SAN and Chief Bayo Ojo SAN. In addition the branch has also been lucky to produce a General Secretary of the NBA in the person of the dynamic Chief R.A. Lawal-Rabana SAN.

As individuals, our members continue to formulate and rewrite the legal principles relating to various areas of law in Nigeria. This is made possible by reason of their active and excellent participation in the various landmark cases adorning legal jurisprudence in Nigeria. A cursory browse of the various Law Reports readily avails one of the quality contributions of some of these legal giants within the Ilorin Bar to the development of law in Nigeria. Men such as Wole Olanipekun SAN, Adegboyega Awomolo SAN, Peter Olorunnisola SAN, Yusuf Ali SAN, Adebayo Adelodun SAN, Saka Isau SAN, Hon A. G. and Commissioner for Justice, Kwara State, Roland Otaru SAN, Duro Adeyele SAN, John Baiyesha SAN, R.A. Lawal-Rabana SAN, J.S. Bamgboye Esq, Abenny Mohammed Esq, Akin Akintoye II, Wahab Egbewole Esq, to mention but a few.

It is therefore little wonder that the privileges committee has turned it into an annual rite to elevate deserving persons from within the Ilorin Bar to the enviable status of Senior Advocates of Nigeria.

It is also important to note that the branch as produced many eminent jurist in the Federal and State judiciaries in Nigeria. Such legal icons include: Hon Justice S.M.A Belgore, GCON, past Chief Justice of Nigeria, Hon Justice Saidu Kawu, CON, retired Justice of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, Hon Justice M.M.A. Akanbi, CFR, past President of the Court of Appeal of Nigeria and past Chairman, Independent Corrupt Practices Commission (ICPC), HRH Alhaji Ibrahim Sulu- Gambari, CFR retired Justice of the Court of Appeal and Current Emir of Ilorin city and environs, Hon Justice Isa Ayo Salami, JCA, Hon Justice M.B. Belgore, past Chief Judge of the Federal High Court of Nigeria, late Hon Justice J.M. Adesiyun, past Chief Judge of the old Benue State, Hon. Justice T. Oyeyipo, past Chief Judge of Kwara State, Hon. Justice Saka Yusuf, past Chief Judge of Kwara State, Hon. Justice Fola Gbadeyan, Hon. Justice Raliat Elelu Habeeb, past Chief Judge of Kwara State, past acting Chief Judge of  Kwara State Hon Justice Gilbert Obayan, former justice  of the High Court of  Gambia and the late Hon. Justice Anthony Ekundayo to mention but a few.

The Ilorin bar has more than 400 members and has produced 15 Senior Advocates of Nigeria and also respectable Citizens who have contributed immensely to the development of the country. The branch is blessed with hardworking and committed members.

Home | About NBA | Committees | News | Publications
Gallery | Resources and Links | Login
Managed by Plat Technologies Limited                                                                                                                               ©2009 NBA Ilorin

We host the NBA Meeting every Month which is been scheduled accordingly.

Please check the Update area for proper updates or use our contact form for  feedbacks suggestions and enquiries.